My past year’s read on Mythology

It is encouraging to see so many participants reading mythology this year. Although I have just finished my first mythology book this year, I reviewed a few more books from the Canongate myth series last year.

My personal project was to read all the books in the series, so far I have read this:

  1. The Penelopiad, Margaret Atwood
  2. Dream Angus, Alexander McCall Smith
  3. Where Three Roads Meet, Salley Vickers
  4. Girl Meets Boy by Ali Smith
  5. Weight by Jeanette Winterson
  6. Lion’s Honey by David Grossman

As soon as I finished The Penelopiad I attacked the Canongate Myth series with rigour. My favourites are Ali Smith’s Girl meets boy and then comes The Penelopiad. The individual books in the series is easy to read and can be finished in one sitting.

I have two more books on mythology that I hope to finish this year.

They are bit more chunky and I hope I’ll read them soon.
All the very best of luck everyone! and have a great summer! 😉

JoV (Bibliojunkie)

4 responses to “My past year’s read on Mythology

  1. It was so fun for me to read The Penelopiad with fellow participants of your challenge. An interesting Atwood read, to be sure; though not one of my favorites of hers it surely gave me a better understanding of Penelope’s story. Maybe one day I’ll actually read The Odyssey!

    It always amuses me how the covers of books whose subject is Troy are always so alluring. 🙂

    • Bellezza, if only I could muster the courage to read The Odyssey or The Illiad!!! Polyxena claims to be the true account of the story of Troy and perhaps for once narrated from the point of view of a woman we get the truth! Thanks for dropping by Bellezza. 🙂

      JoV

  2. I recommend Baba Yaga Laid an Egg by Dubravka Ugresic from that series, I really loved it. She is a fantastic author.

    • Amy,
      Baba Yaga Laid an Egg gets mentioned all the time, thanks for bringing this up again, in fact I’ll reserve and check it out from the library after this! Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

      JoV

Leave a Reply

